Mormor’s Christmas Gingersnaps

A week or so ago I shared a picture on Instagram (stephmoss) of the Gingersnaps Arjen and I baked.

  

I got quite a few requests for the recipe so I thought I would share it here.

The holidays have a way of making me miss my grandparents. Growing up, my Mormor (Swedish for grandmother) would make these Gingersnaps every Christmas. 

When I think of Christmas’ past and pour over memories these always come to mind.

My mom still bakes them every year and so do I. It’s a nice way to remember her.

I’m pretty sure Mormor wouldn’t mind sharing the recipe with anyone who would enjoy it.

So, if you still need to bake cookies to leave Santa on Thursday night…these are a classic and delicious choice. Enjoy!

Mormor’s Gingersnaps

  • 2 cups of sifted flour
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1tsp allspice (or cloves)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup shortening
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg (unbeaten)
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  1. Measure flour, ginger, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, and salt into a sifter (sift TWICE)
  2. Cream shortening until soft in a medium bowl; add sugar gradually, creaming after each addition.
  3. Best in eggs and molasses
  4. Sift the dry ingredients over creamed mixture and blend well. 
  5. Chill the dough well in fridge – 1/2 hour minimum.
  6. Form small balls of dough then roll them in a dish of granulated sugar until coated. 
  7. Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes until tops are slightly rounded, crackly, and light brown.

* note – tonight I made a batch and I decided to dip 1/2 he cookie in melted white chocolate…yup, just as good as it sounds. 

  

Leave a Reply

