Quilted: Black, White, and Mint all Over

It’s been my pleasure to make baby quilts not only for my own babes, spending hours dreaming about what they will be like once they are born, but for all my nieces and nephews as well. 

The newest arrival, sweet baby GIRL Anna, gave me a chance to finally work on a more feminine quilt (the last  five arrivals have been boys)!

Ashley VanSickle Photography http://www.ashleyvansicklephotography.com

As you can see, she’s beautiful!

I opted for a simple patchwork design using mint (Kate & Birdie, Winterberry), grey (Reel Time Zen Chic), solid white, and a random smattering of black & white fabrics I had in my existing stash.
 

I love the way it turned out, simple & clean. To “girly it up” I chose the feminine backing fabric with coordinating binding (Bloom, Butterflies). 

 

Every quilt I make teaches me something. Being self taught I have learned the craft from blogs, online tutorials, a couple quilting books, and the advice of more experienced friends. This time around I finally learned how to “square up” my quilt! Thank you Rita (Fabric Please) for showing me how…it was nice to fold this one up nice and straight. 

 

In the end the quilt is loved and I hope treasured by sweet Anna.
As a side note, if you are a fellow GTA local. Creativ Festival starts on Thursday October 15th through until Saturday. It’s such a fun day to get inspired and stock up on some sweet designer fabrics!

Plus…I will be there helping out my friend Rita from Fabric Please run her booth. Come say hello!

Leave a Reply

