Scrappy Baby Quilt

A few years ago I came across a quilt pattern that I tucked away to make for myself…one day.  It’s from a book called “Sunday Morning Quilts”.  This book is full of great quilt ideas that use up little scraps you may have lying around just begging to become a masterpiece. This pattern is the “ticker tape quilt” from the book.

Anyhow…when my newest nephew was expected to arrive this spring…I decided to make it for him.

Let me tell you – it’s a good thing I ended up making this one for someone other than myself because it truly was a labor of love.  Although the pattern didn’t involve traditional “quilting” it was very tedious.  Some nights I would work for a few hours and it would seem as though I accomplished nothing.  BUT…all of a sudden it started coming together and boy…did it turn out great.

What’s really nice is that I was able to incorporate a few scraps that I had used two years ago when I made a quilt for this nephew’s older brother’s quilt.  Mom liked that too.

front
Front of quilt, image mine.
back
Back of quilt, image mine.
collage
Image mine.

When the quilt was finished I was so glad that I stuck it out.  I love the scrappy & random feel of this quilt as well as the happy colors that dot it.  It turned out lovely.

AND…for any quilters/sewers out there…I accurately followed THIS tutorial on machine binding by Red Pepper Quilts.  This tutorial is amazing and worked out perfectly – so easy!  Attaching binding has always been difficult for me.  I think this is the method I am going to stick with from now on.

One thought on “Scrappy Baby Quilt

Leave a Reply

