Popsicle Recipe & Toddler Tale

When the weather turned hot I decided to dig up a popsicle recipe and make Arjen and I a refreshing treat for the hot afternoons!

After “pinning” a few I came up with my own recipe.  They turned out great and I will share the “recipe” below.

Arjen is 18 months old now and I thought that a popsicle could either be a hit or a miss.

I have to tell you…it was both.

He was sooooo excited when I pulled them out of the freezer and I gave him his own to carry outside.

He was all smiles and looked so proud holding his own “pop” (which he said over and over for the next 1/2 hr).

Image

We sat down on the stairs and I showed him how to lick the popsicle…but, he’s a biter.

He preferred to bite his “pop” – fine.

After 3 or 4 glorious bites he stopped.

No longer did he want to consume his treat.  Now, all he wants to do is hold it.  Tightly.

It was like 30 something degrees today…it started melting FAST.

Down his chubby wrist, down the forearm, pooling the the bend of his elbow, dripping from there onto his thigh and finally arriving at it’s destination on his Croc.

I begged, pleaded, tried to help…he really just wanted to hold that pop and have it melt.

As I am about to flip out…I recalled something I read not long ago – encouraging me to “slow down”.

Do an ordinary task with your child at your child’s pace. Show peace. Show deliberate and careful.  Children imitate both our actions and our moods.  Let’s give them a chance to feel unhurried.  – Creative With Kids

So, I took a deep breath and watched his entire popsicle drip to his feet.

Image

I wish I could say it ended well.  But anyone who has a toddler knows that when that popsicle was gone…the real meltdown began.  BUT…that’s what sponge baths and Bubble Guppies are for!

By the way, the popsicles were really good.  Here’s the recipe I went with, enjoy!

Coconut Popsicle with Fruit

1 can light coconut milk

2 Tbsp honey (or agave, or maple syrup)

about 2 cups of fruit (fresh or frozen) pureed 

*I used bananas & strawberries but the combinations are truly endless

then I tossed in some Chia Seeds for a protein boost

Whisk coconut milk and honey until combined in large measuring cup with spout.  Puree fruit and add to liquid.  Mix. stir in Chia seeds.  Pour into popsicle moulds, freeze and serve. 

Just as a side note…aren’t these popsicle moulds cool?  They are definitely on my wish list!

Image

Leave a Reply

