Mother’s Day

For such a long time this second Sunday in May, Mother’s Day, was a dreaded day on the calendar for me.

I cringed at the the thought of  get togethers, the smiles, the well meaning people wishing me a Happy Mothers Day even though I wasn’t a mother and I was far from “happy“.

My heart and my arms were empty for this day.

Scott and I would skip church, stay in bed, drink coffee and try to ignore the significance of the day as long as we could.

It was a hard time.

Now, by God’s great mercy and blessing, I am a mother.

This is my second Mother’s day.

But it’s strange, I still feel a little sad on this day.

I don’t forget what it’s like to be a mother without a child – what that feels like in your heart.

So, I will say an extra prayer for those who’s hearts are sad today.

Sad for loss, sad for waiting, sad for hopelessness.

imgres

Yet the importance of the day cannot be missed.  Mothers deserve to be honored.

I want to say Happy Mother’s Day to my moms – strong women with soft hearts.

Thank you for your love that never goes away.

I love you.

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. Thank you.I love you too.
    You, too, are a strong woman with a soft heart.
    “that boy” has brought out the best in you…he was worth waiting for!
    xo

Leave a Reply

